Coffee

The reason my blog has been slacking a bit is because I’m not properly caffeinated.

Okay, that’s not true. I’m busy with class and exploring this amazing city. BUT the coffee situation here must be addressed as a warning to those of you thinking about traveling to the land of tea.

I have been a tea drinker for most of my life. It started with drinking a cup of hot sugar water that was slightly tinted brown for effect, but eventually my taste buds matured and enjoyed the actual flavor of tea. In high school, however, I grew to love the other intoxicating morning brew – coffee. Now, I have a serious problem, but it’s a problem I don’t really care to solve. I drink my coffee in the morning (and sometimes afternoon, if necessary) and settle in at night with a cup of tea. Don’t worry, I drink a barrel of water throughout the day.

This lifestyle has been abruptly interrupted by this unidentifiable brown water that is claimed to be coffee. In some cases, it is instant coffee. Other times it has been “brewed” fresh, but I think they are really just adding brown food coloring to hot water.

One of my loves in life is discovering cute coffee shops. I decided that because my flat doesn’t have a coffee pot, I would begin a quest for good coffee. It has been a struggle. Originally, I scoffed at the fellow American students I saw with Starbucks cups. I must admit, I caved this week and went because I simply could not bear the disappointment of another watery cup of joe.

The search will continue. In the meantime, I am drinking tea in the morning, longing for Mudhouse, Java Haute, and Corner Grind. Much love to those places. When I get back to the states, my steamy love affair will continue….

*Note: Don’t let the featured image fool you. While very cute, this coffee was also disappointing

2 comments

  1. joeythebuddhist · June 17, 2015

    god i love coffee

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gail Hayes · June 17, 2015

    Ummm, I think I’m packing our coffee maker. More important than extra shoes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

